UAPB Golden Lion Battalion’s 2023 ROTC Graduates Share Their Plans for the Future

Pine Bluff, AR — The UAPB Division of Military Science is celebrating its Army ROTC Spring ’23 graduates. Eleven graduates were commissioned at the May 6, 2023, Commencement exercises. They were commissioned during a special time, as the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff/AM&N College Commissioned Officers’ Association celebrates its 55th Anniversary and UAPB celebrates its 150th Anniversary.

Lt. Col Nicolai Birch, UAPB Professor of Military Science, said, “It is a remarkable year for the UAPB Golden Lions Battalions. We celebrate the 55th Anniversary of the ROTC program while we celebrate the 150th Anniversary of UAPB. The Cadets Commissioning in May 2023 faced some interesting challenges, they survived virtual schooling, masks, restrictions, and much more, yet they came out on top. They now take an oath that begins the next chapter of their lives where the Army motto “Be all you can be” will inspire them while serving the Nation in uniform and their civilian careers.”

The UAPB 2023 ROTC graduates include:

Dadreuna Clingmon

Degree: bachelors in social work

Hometown: Sherwood Arkansas

“I joined ROTC to become an Officer in the United States Army.  I plan on attaining my master’s degree at Arkansas State University, and I will be commissioned as a Chemical Officer in the Army.  My favorite quote: “You never fail until you stop trying”-Albert Einstein.”

Keyana Climmons

Degree: bachelors in social work

Hometown: Memphis, Tennessee

“I joined ROTC because I wanted to prove to myself that I could achieve what I thought was impossible. I plan to obtain my master’s degree and become a Social Worker in the US Army.  When I lost my mother, I thought I wouldn’t make it, I used her memory to make her proud. I made it, Momma.”

Tienesha Hence

Degree: bachelors in criminal justice

Hometown: Pine Bluff, AR

“I plan on continuing with the Army National Guard and attending law school in the Fall of 2023. My words of wisdom: “No matter how hard things may get, never give up.”

Massiah Hoard

Degree: bachelors in plant and soil science

Hometown: Oakpark, MI

“I joined ROTC to gain leadership skills and experience. My plan for the future is to join a nonprofit agriculture organization and further my studies.”

Brianna Renee Jones

Degree: bachelors in health & physical education/wellness

Hometown: Helena West Helena, Arkansas

“I knew the ROTC would be the best fit for me, and I wanted to outrank my father in the blink of an eye.  My plans for the future: To get a technician job at Camp Robinson and then eventually transition over to become a teacher and basketball coach for a high school and, later on, college.  Words of wisdom: Nothing is impossible; the word itself says, “I’m POSSIBLE!” -Audrey Hepburn.”

Destiny Kilgore

Degree: bachelors in political science

Hometown: Pine Bluff, AR

“The ROTC provided me with security and discipline for the present and the future.  UAPB gave me the opportunity, growth, memories, family, and friends to last a lifetime. I’m forever grateful for my HBCU.  I plan to attend law school to become a criminal defense attorney. My words of wisdom: Allow Jesus Christ to direct your paths.”

Jerome Mills Jr.

Degree: bachelors in criminal justice

Hometown: West Helena, Arkansas

“I chose ROTC because it was something I always had an interest in. After graduating from Basic Training, I did further research on ROTC and saw it as a way to improve my leadership abilities and wanted to take my military service to a higher level.   My plans for the future include going to training to become a Military Police Officer, graduate school, and then law school. I’m still unsure of where to attend graduate school, but I plan on attending the Thurgood Marshall College of Law in Houston, Texas. Afterward, I want to start my own practice and ultimately become a judge.  My favorite quote: “If you are working on something that you really care about, you don’t have to be pushed. The vision pulls you.” — Steve Jobs.”

Kenneth Reed

Degree:  bachelors in criminal justice

Hometown: Pine Bluff, AR

“All my life, I wanted to be in the military, and later in high school, I decided that I wanted to be an Army officer. ROTC was the easiest route to achieve that goal of being an Army officer. I will make a career out of the Army. My words of wisdom: Keep pushing even if you don’t think you can do it. It’ll all be worth it in the end.”

Caitlin Ragoonanan

Degree: bachelors in biology

Hometown:  Born in Atlanta, Georgia but grew up in Trinidad and Tobago.

“I pursued ROTC for the sole purpose of enhancing my future goals and aspirations. I also plan to pursue a career in the medical field.   Some words of wisdom that I will leave to my fellow classmates and cadets are, “No matter how hard it gets, push through because the end result is worth it.”

Chelsea Ragoonanan

Degree: bachelors in biology

Hometown: Trinidad and Tobago

“I wanted to use the ROTC as a pathway that would lead to my future career plans.  My plans for the future: Attend physical therapy school.  My words of wisdom: “Don’t settle for average.”

Davonta Vaughn

Degree: bachelors in criminal justice

Hometown: Texarkana, TX

“I’ve been in the military since 2017. It was always my plan to further my military by going to school. This is the completion but also the beginning of that plan.  I plan on doing a full 20 years in the army and then getting into politics with the hope of being president one day.  My words of wisdom:  The things you want in life, God wants for you 10x more.”

For questions about the UAPB ROTC program and how to enroll, contact Jalina Williams, Retention and Scholarship Officer, at williamsj@uapb.edu.

One thought on “UAPB Golden Lion Battalion’s 2023 ROTC Graduates Share Their Plans for the Future

  1. Pingback: UAPB's Golden Lion Battalion 2023 ROTC Graduates Share Their Plans For The Future - Today Postimes

Leave a comment