UAPB Students Excel at INBRE Research Conference


Shamara Lawrence and Bria Collier

Two University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB) students represented the institution at the Annual 2017 Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) Research Conference recently. Students gave oral and poster presentations in biology, physics, chemistry and biochemistry categories.

Shamara Lawrence, a sophomore majoring in biochemistry, won second place overall in the chemistry and biochemistry poster presentation category. Her research topic was, “The Regulation of CYP1B1 by Inflammation in Human Hepatocytes.”  She completed this research while serving as an undergraduate summer student researcher at the University of Pittsburgh in Pittsburgh, PA in the Department of Molecular Pharmacology during the summer of 2017.  The award included a certificate, plaque and a check for $250.

Bria Collier, a senior majoring in physics, won third place (honorable mention) in the physics poster presentation category. Her project was entitled, “Raman Detection of Explosives.” She did her research in the Physics Department at Alabama A&M University in Huntsville, AL as an undergraduate summer student researcher in the summer of 2017. She received a certificate.

Other students who presented at the INBRE Research Conference listed by (category): Physics (Mercedes Winfrey), Chemistry and Biochemistry (Taylor Hammonds, Jordan Iverson); and Biology (Jana Lewis, Taylor Hill, Shontiara Johnson, Paige Akins, Khadijah Jones, Malcolm Anderson, Summer Harris, and Makayla Cowles).

UAPB Administrators, faculty and staff conference participants were: Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development Dr. Mansour Mortazavi; Dr. Grant Wangila, Chair, Department of Chemistry/Physics; Dr. Anissa Buckner, Chair Department of Biology, Dr. Selma Dagtas, Biology Assistant Professor, Dr. Michael Rowe, Biology Assistant Professor, Dr. Kaye Crippen, Professor, Human Sciences, Dr. Daoyuan Wang, Chemistry Assistant Professor, Dr. Seyed Ghetmiri, Physics Post-Doctoral Fellow; Mrs. Genevia Kelsey-Thomas, Program Project Analyst; Ms. Marikka Bender, Research Project Analyst, and Dr. Frank Hahn, Chemistry Adjunct Professor.

The Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (Arkansas INBRE) is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences under the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The program was established for the purpose of broadening the geographic distribution of NIH funding for biomedical and behavioral research. Arkansas INBRE encourages and provides creative opportunities in research for students and faculty in STEM areas. The program sparks creativity in students, encourages the rising generation of scientists with recognition for their efforts, and provides research opportunities during the summer at leading research institutions in the state for students interested in graduate school in biomedical areas and STEM disciplines.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s