Dr. Rebecca Lochmann recognized as Arkansas Research Alliance Fellow

Will Hehemann School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences

Dr. Rebecca LochmannDr. Rebecca Lochmann, interim chair of the Department of Aquaculture and Fisheries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB), was recognized as one of five Arkansas Research Alliance (ARA) Fellows at a press conference held at the Arkansas State Capitol on Thursday, August 3. The ARA Fellows program recognizes distinguished university research leaders in the state with an established history of impact.

Governor Asa Hutchinson announced the five ARA Fellows, each representing one of the five research universities in the state: UAPB, Arkansas State University, University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, University of Arkansas at Little Rock and University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. Each ARA Fellow was nominated by the chancellor of their affiliated university and will receive a $75,000 grant paid over three years.

“Dr. Lochmann is a leading scholar in the field of aquaculture,” UAPB Chancellor Dr. Laurence B. Alexander said. “I am so pleased to see Dr. Lochmann receive this well-deserved recognition. We are truly proud of her achievements and contributions in teaching, research and Extension, and we greatly appreciate her leadership to our Department of Aquaculture and Fisheries and the Aquaculture/Fisheries Center of Excellence.”

The ARA grant Dr. Lochmann received will fund research projects related to the efficacy of alternative dietary protein and lipid sources, prebiotics and probiotics and other feed additives on the growth, health, product quality and reproductive performance of baitfish, catfish, largemouth bass, hybrid striped bass and tilapia. UAPB assesses the cost-effectiveness of these ingredients to estimate the effects of diet manipulations on production profitability of these species.

Dr. Lochmann earned a doctoral degree in wildlife and fisheries science from Texas A&M University, a master’s degree in marine biology from the Florida Institute of Technology and a bachelor’s degree in zoology from Louisiana State University.

Her career at UAPB began when she was hired as a professor of aquaculture/fisheries in 1996. Her research focus is fish nutrition with an emphasis on small cyprinids (baitfish), channel catfish and largemouth bass.

“Throughout her career at UAPB, Dr. Lochmann’s research demonstrates her dedication to the success of the aquaculture industry in Arkansas,” Dr. Edmund Buckner, interim dean/director for the UAPB School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences, said. “Her emphasis on finding better and more competitive fish rations has been of great value to fish farmers of all types across the state, region and even globally.”

During her tenure at UAPB, Dr. Lochmann has published over 70 journal articles, two book chapters, one symposium chapter and 16 Extension and popular articles. She has secured more than $3 million in extramural grant funding. She has also chaired or served on approximately 20 graduate and doctoral student committees at UAPB and other institutions.

She formerly served terms as president of the World Aquaculture Society, the U.S. Chapter of the World Aquaculture Society and the Central Arkansas Chapter of Sigma Xi. She also served as associate editor for the North American Journal of Aquaculture, as well as on the advisory board of the Kentucky State University Program of Distinction for several years. She is a member of the Catfish Farmers of Arkansas, the Arkansas Bait and Ornamental Fish Grower’s Association and Phi Kappa Phi.

The other ARA fellows are: Dr. Laurent Bellaiche, professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Arkansas; Dr. Tansel Karabacak, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock; Dr. Merle G. Paule, director of the Division of Neurotoxicology at the National Center for Toxicological Research (NCTR); and Dr. Mark Smeltzer, professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, and director of the Center for Microbial Pathogenesis and Host Inflammatory Responses at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s