Getting to Know SAFHS: Meet Marilyn D. Burch

marilyn-burch-photo-2016The successes of the UAPB School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences are largely due to its dedicated employees who are passionate about their work. Our “Getting to Know SAFHS” series highlights some of our talented faculty and staff and lets you know a little more about them.

Where is your hometown?
Pine Bluff, Arkansas.

Where did you go to college?
The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

What did you major in and when did you graduate?
I earned a bachelor’s degree in nutrition and dietetics in 2001 and a master’s degree in addiction studies in 2008.

What is your job role at UAPB?
Extension Associate-Foods and Nutrition.

What do you like most about your job?
I like the community involvement the most. I enjoy sharing nutrition information that helps consumers and their families select, prepare and eat better meals while staying physically active.

Describe your career before you came to UAPB.
Before coming to UAPB, my career was in long-term care. As a dietary manager, my main duty was ensuring that residents received well-balanced meals in compliance with their special dietary needs.

If you weren’t working at UAPB, what would your dream job be?
If I weren’t working at UAPB, my dream job would be working as a travel nutrition educator. It would be the absolute best of both worlds! I love to travel and I love educating people about foods and nutrition to help them live better and possibly increase their longevity.

What are your hobbies outside of work?
My hobbies outside of work are creating healthy recipes, reading, travelling, collecting cookbooks (the older the better) and enjoying family time.

Do you have a favorite movie or book?
One of my favorite movies is “Coal Miner’s Daughter.” My favorite book is the Holy Bible (King James Version).

If you could visit any place in the world, where would you choose to go and why?
If I could visit any place in the world, New Zealand would be it. The landscape is breathtaking – beaches, mountains, grassy hills – and not to mention the food. I would love to swap recipes with the locals!

What is one goal you’d like to accomplish during your lifetime?
One goal I would like to accomplish during my lifetime is to open a cooking school.

Who is your hero?
My hero (shero), hands-down, is my mother. She always taught me to embrace knowledge. In her many roles, she has been a CEO, founder, chef, plumber, electrician, teacher, politician, lawyer, doctor, counselor, carpenter, secretary and friend, just to name a few!

Leave a Reply

