Getting to Know SAFHS: Meet Yunru Shen

yurnu_2The successes of the School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences are largely due to its dedicated employees who are passionate about their work. Our “Getting to Know SAFHS” series highlights some of our talented faculty and staff and lets you know a little more about them.

What is your job role at UAPB?
Fashion Instructor of Merchandising, Textiles, & Design (MTD) Program

Where is your hometown?
Shanghai, China

Where did you go to college?
I attended Raffles College of Design and Commerce (RCDC) in Shanghai, China. Because RCDC is part of the British education system, I got my bachelor’s degree from Australia. Later, I went to Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) in Savannah, GA.

What did you major in?
Bachelor of Design in Fashion Design at RCDC and Master of Fine Arts in Fashion at SCAD.

What year did you graduate?
I graduated in 2014.

What do you like most about your job?
My job is all about fashion, art and fashion/art education, which is my passion. Also, people are so nice at UAPB. I have a lot of chances to create art and fashion works and to cooperate with people in the different departments at UAPB.

Describe your career before you came to UAPB.
Fashion designer and artist.

If you weren’t working at UAPB, what would your dream job be?
I am working in my dream job now, because I think it is important to educate the next generation of students in fashion and art. Also, I am still a fashion designer and artist. I just did several fashion shows this year and am planning to do more fashion art exhibitions next year.

What are your hobbies outside of work?
My hobbies are researching different cultures and languages, listening to music, visiting art museums and travelling.

Do you have a favorite movie or book?
Film: Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has To Travel

If you could visit any place in the world, where would you choose to go and why?
I would like to go to Paris and Tokyo, because both cities have strong fashion culture and style.

What is one goal you’d like to accomplish during your lifetime?
I have two goals. I hope I can have my own family, and I hope to work in fashion and art areas during my lifetime.

Who is your hero?
My father is my hero.

Leave a Reply

