Dr. Steve Lochmann awarded by Arkansas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society

Will Hehemann School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences

Steve LochmannDr. Steve Lochmann, professor of aquaculture and fisheries at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, was recently awarded the Joe Hogan Award for Individual Achievement at the annual meeting of the Arkansas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society (AFS) in Fairfield Bay, Arkansas.

The award recognizes those with a strong commitment to Arkansas’ fisheries and aquatic resources.

Dr. Lochmann, a member of the AFS for more than 20 years, is a former president of the AFS Arkansas Chapter and the Southern Division. He serves as associate editor for the North American Journal of Aquaculture and is president-elect of the Fish Culture Section.

The AFS is composed of over 9,000 members worldwide, including aquaculturists, biologists, ecologists, economists, engineers, fisheries managers, geneticists and social scientists.

According to its website, the Arkansas Chapter of the AFS was formed in 1987 to serve fisheries professionals in the state of Arkansas by promoting the wise management, conservation and use of fisheries and aquatic resources, facilitating the exchange of information among industry professionals and increasing the public’s awareness of fisheries-related issues and projects.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s