UAPB Department of Agriculture announces fall 2013 scholarship recipients

Bobbie Handcock | School of Agriculture, Fisheries and Human Sciences    

PINE BLUFF, Ark. – Students in the Department of Agriculture at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff have been awarded more than $25,000 in scholarships in fall 2013.

Kiara Ford, a senior from Pine Bluff, Ark. majoring in agricultural business, received a $10,000 Monsanto Fund/United Negro College Fund 1890 Scholarship. The program provides scholarships annually to Ten African-American College juniors and/or seniors majoring in various science, engineering and ag-related fields. As a Monsanto field sales summer intern, Ford worked in Decorah, Iowa in 2012 and in Amarillo, Texas in 2013. She has also been selected as a 2013 Thurgood Marshall scholar and will participate in a leadership development and career networking conference in Washington, D.C.

Elizabeth Andrews, a junior agribusiness major and a Southeast Arkansas College transfer student, has been awarded a $1,250 National Crop Insurance Services 1890 Land Grant Scholarship. Andrews, who is from White Hall, Ark., will receive $1,250 per semester for four semesters. Dexter Howard, a senior agricultural business major from Searcy, Ark., is also a recipient of a National Crop Insurance Services 1890 Land Grant Scholarship. He will receive $1,250 per semester for two semesters.

Shawntavia Bell, a senior agribusiness from Smackover, Ark., has been awarded $1,000 through the Arkansas Game and Fish Scholarship Program. The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage young people to pursue careers in fish and wildlife management, and natural resources education.

Six students received an S.J. Parker Scholarship for the 2013-2014 academic year. It is awarded to full-time freshman and sophomore UAPB students with a 2.50 or above grade point average and pursuing a major in the field of agriculture. The awardees are: Delta Bell of Lonoke, Ark., plant/soil sciences, $800; Marc Carlock of Pine Bluff, Ark., agribusiness, $800; Morgan Ely of Pine Bluff, Ark., agribusiness, $800; Jerrica C. Hardeman of New Boston, Texas, agribusiness, $800; Devin J. Thomas of Pine Bluff, animal science, $800 and Paula Johnson of Pine Bluff, Ark., animal science, $1,000.

Four students received the Division of Agriculture Scholarship. Awardees must be full-time undergraduate, sophomore, junior or senior students with a 3.0 or above grade point average majoring in agriculture and related fields. The recipients are: Alexis Hardiman of Morrilton, Ark., regulatory science, $682; Alicia Brown of Lexa, Ark., plant/soil sciences, $500; Shreka D. Shaw of Pine Bluff, Ark., agribusiness, $500 and Chanise Golatt of Mablevale, Ark., animal science, $500.

The Owen A. Porter Endowment Scholarship recipient is Odell Hamilton, a plant/soil sciences major from Hope, Ark. The $1,200 award is for freshmen majoring in agronomy with good academic records, character and a sincere interest in plant science, soils and natural resources. For more information about the academic programs and scholarships in the UAPB Department of Agriculture, contact Dr. Obadiah Njue, Department Chair, at 870-575-8535 or


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s